1. avatar Lunar
    Basically looking to buy a new guitar and I don't really know which sites are reliable, there's a site I that keeps popping up called GAK.co.uk and it's ridiculously cheap for music equipment.

    Any replies and also links to better sites would be awesome!

  2. avatar dave_b
  3. avatar scumbag
    I have done loads of online business both in the UK, Far East and USA over the years. GAK is a crapshoot, works out ok if all goes well, but if there is a problem , then you realise why the items are priced so cheaply, tread with care when you deal with them.

    There is an old adage "you get what you pay for " and there is a degree of wisdom in there. You buy dirt cheap and you will be very fortunate indeed if there aint any issues. I advise every time that online buyers go to a retailer that is totally pro in attitude, products, customer service and knowledge and has an excellent returns policy. My #1 recommendation is always www.soundsgreatmusic.com , with whom you will never have a problem.

    A good option is to try and buy used locally, that way you get 1st hand experience of the guitar and can go through the haggle routine , many players have bought a guitar online only to find niggles they cant live with and then have a heck of a time returning it or flipping it onto somebody else.

    Treat ebay carefully too, there are salt of the earth sellers who are selling 100% legit items out there, but there are also bastards who will sell you misdescribed or fake goods with no returns policy.

    If you HAVE to do it online , just make sure you do your homework on the seller and the product and get it right 1st time. Good luck to you.
  4. avatar Recycled Alien